Tuts 4 You

Converting .NET to native improves protection?

pr070n

Hi everyone,

I've read many topics here but didn't find the information I was looking for.

If the question is dumb then it's because I have no knowledge in protecting/virtualizing/obfuscating/cracking software.

To keep it simple. I have a .NET application that I want to protect. Does converting it to native (rewriting it in C/C++) and then protecting/virtualizing it with software such as Themida or VMProtect improves the protection?

What I want to know, is native protected software more secure than .NET protected software?

If yes, what's the strongest protection software for native applications? The good ones I know are Themida and VMProtect. Is there any other software that's better than both?

If no or not worth the effort of converting it to native then what's the strongest protection software for .NET applications?

Thanks in advance.

Are you willing to change language just for this reason? at the basis of the use of a specific language there should be very specific reasons, you should not evaluate the passage only for this aspect which, although important, is not everything.

The advantage of native code is that it is not directly decompilable like .NET code, but i honestly don't think using themida or vmprotect protects you from any possible attack. The same reasoning applies as you can do with a .net protector.

Edited by LoLLo90