Tuts 4 You

Quick TLS Info question

LCF-AT

Hi guy,

I have a small question about TLS so I dont remember anymore and just asking now and I dont find any example file using TLSCallback + relocation to load file with dynamic base addresses.

So in the TLS info table I can see direct VA addresses and no RVA addresses.My question is just whether the VA addresses gets updated like this...

TLS info table VAs etc - Imagebase from PE Header = TLS RVAs + New loaded targetbase = New TLS VAs.Should be so right?

As I said I am just quickly asking about it so I dont find a dynamic file I can checkout now to see it. :)

Thanks

I'm not an expert in that matter but a few weeks ago, I was trying to reverse an application with TLS callbacks (Neo hex editor from HHD software) , take a look maybe it can help you understanding the logic you're looking for.

• Like 1
  • 2 weeks later...
Peter Ferrie

TLS entries require relocation items that point to the entries, in order to fix them.

Files with dynamic base addresses also require relocations in order to fix up everything else.  If there's no table, then Windows (generally - there are some side-cases) won't move the file.

• Like 1

Hi,

ah ok just wanted to know that quickly.Just sub imagebase from PE Header and add used base to it.All clear now.Thanks again.

greetz

• 1 month later...

Hi guys,