Tuts 4 You

Problems logging all jumps/calls

chickenmc

Hello all,

I am new to x64dbg and I am trying to log all jumps and calls of my main prog1.exe. I am doing so using this command:

TraceSetLog "{p:cip}", "dis.isbranch(cip) && prog1.EntryPoint == mod.entry(dis.branchdest(cip))"

dis.isbranch(cip) will be true if there is a call or jump and the right part will check if I am in my main prog1.exe (because I don't want to log any jumps/calls from dll's that are loaded - I am only interested in prog1.exe)

After that command I type in:

StartRunTrace C:\Users\x64user\Desktop\log.txt

and then start the Run Trace (one million hits will be logged):

TraceOverConditional 0, 1000000

My problem is that only 50-300 EIP values will be logged and then an exception in the kernelbase.dll will occur. I have no idea why. It doesn't matter at which instruction I start the trace, the same amount of 50-300 hits will be logged and then the exception occurs. For the exception msg from the log window see Spoiler:

Spoiler

For prog1.exe this is the exception:

EXCEPTION_DEBUG_INFO:
           dwFirstChance: 1
           ExceptionCode: 000006A6 (RPC_S_INVALID_BINDING)
          ExceptionFlags: 00000001
        ExceptionAddress: 7512C54F kernelbase.7512C54F
        NumberParameters: 0
First chance exception on 7512C54F (000006A6, RPC_S_INVALID_BINDING)!

For a different prog.exe I received this exception:

EXCEPTION_DEBUG_INFO:
           dwFirstChance: 1
           ExceptionCode: E06D7363 (CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)
          ExceptionFlags: 00000001
        ExceptionAddress: 7512C54F kernelbase.7512C54F
        NumberParameters: 3
ExceptionInformation[00]: 19930520
ExceptionInformation[01]: 0018F73C
ExceptionInformation[02]: 0046DC88 prog.0046DC88
First chance exception on 7512C54F (E06D7363, CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)!