Tuts 4 You

Getting Docsis Cable Modem Firmware

Downloading...

Downloading...

Hello guys,

I'm trying to get to know my cable modem with integrated router better but I can't seem to find any firmware online (it's a CBN 6643E)

I read one guy was able to root it a few years ago and since then it has been updated, but I can't seem to find how he did it. I think he somehow managed to extract the firmware since he asked a binwalk question on devttys0's website.

Now before I open up my modem (which is illegal I suppose since it is provided by my ISP) how would I be able to extract the firmware to analyse it?

Would it be possible to somehow sniff the traffic from the coax cable to eventually grab an update file or something?

There is no web server running on the modem/router and settings are only accessible trough ISP's website (which sucks if website is offline I can't change my network settings).

So there is no way to exploit it trough a running service.

I am new to hardware hacking so take it easy :) 

Greetings,

Down...

In general you'll need to find the serial port or other diagnostic interface and try to gain access from there. Good starter is here: https://deadcode.me/blog/2016/07/01/UPC-UBEE-EVW3226-WPA2-Reversing.html 

Read both main article and the other articles it links to.. :)

14 hours ago, Downloading... said:

Would it be possible to somehow sniff the traffic from the coax cable to eventually grab an update file or something?

Not unless you have a lot of experience and can make custom sw/hw. Google "Hacking DOCSIS For Fun and Profit".

• Like 1

• 1 month later...