Tuts 4 You

Lab Question

null_endian

Hello,

So I am new to this and reading several books, including Practical Malware Analysis.

I only have 2 usable computers: 1 is my main machine which is a brand new i7 with 16 GB of RAM expandable to 32GB and a GPU with Win 10, the other is my old Core 2 Duo T6600 machine with 4GB of RAM from 2009 that I have Linux on.

My initial thought for creating a malware analysis lab was to use the Linux box with a virtual machine running Windows... However, last night I quickly discovered that was not going to happen because the computer is frankly too old to run a VM smoothly, especially since the processor doesn't have virtualization.

So that means I gotta do it on my main machine unfortunately because that's all I can afford right now. I'm not looking for a 100% guarantee here but these are the precautions I figure that I would take just in case malware ever broke out of my VM:

1. Always keep VirtualBox up to date.

2. Analyze malware that is already well-known and isn't totally destructive in the first place (start with spyware and adware, for example).

3. Analyze malware that my main machine's anti-malware software recognizes so that if it were to get out somehow, at least it would be picked up by the software and I could promptly remove it.

4. If I do decide to work on a bigger threat such as a ransomeware or a mbr virus or something, make sure that the host machine is completely backed up first.