Tuts 4 You

Changing String length in a C++ Executable's Combo Boxes

zerohp

Hi, I apologize in advance if I've posted this in the wrong place, plus I'm a newbie so please spare me some punishment regarding the following.

I want to modify an executable that uses combo boxes for several hundred strings.

I have no source, and when you use a resource editor only dialogs appear.

I've been told this program's combo boxes use a tricky string structure.

Since hex edit seems to be my only option at this point, I change the current text while leaving null(00?) characters alone.

The null character data position can't be changed and they signify the start of the next string.

Due to being only able to edit original text, I also have to keep the original string lengths.

My modifications then have to be cut short or waste space if I used less characters.

How do I modify these lengths to my liking? I also hope to remove unused strings.

Edit: A sample of the program can be found on the sixth post.

Edited by zerohp

This only applies to strings shorter than the one it is replacing, to go the other way you would have to relocate the entire string table to accomodate the new bytes OR modify the strings in the resources (i'm assuming they are in a table which is stored in the resource section, if not i'm right off track here...) in whatever way you find most suitable.

If the NULL byte signs the end of the string/ beginning of next string, could you remove the 'left over' bytes between strings?

IE:

X = New string

Y = 'Left over' chars

Z = Next string

Before removal:

XXXXXXXXXX0YYYYYYY0ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ0

After removal:

XXXXXXXXXX0ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ0

This way the NULL byte would still sign the eos/sof.

HR,

Ghandi