Tuts 4 You

VM aware malware + Custom protection?

Fizban

Hi everyone!

I have received a file from a friend asking me if i could maybe help him analyze this file.

Since i'm still new to this, i thought of maybe asking you guys before i endanger my PC :P

I have tried to firstly run this sample in VM but it seem to detect the VM.

Secondly, i have tried running it with Olly, but it uses some kind of VB protection that is WAY out of my league..

Third, since i saw VB (and PEiD also said it's Microsoft Visual Basic 5.0 & 6.0) i tried running it with SmartCheck but run into a wall of errors saying something about the program is using p-code...

Anyway, since this file is really out of my league, i thought i would ask the experts here and maybe contribute something interesting to the community :)

If it is something well known, i would appreciate it if you could let me in on the characteristics and how did you came to the conclusion that it is indeed something well know. (Maybe my tools are not enough...)

I appreciate the help!

**WARNING!!! THIS IS MALWARE!!! PROCEED WITH CAUTION!!!**

password: infected

sample.zip

Edited by Fizban

I only briefly looked at the sample because I don't have much time. I hope I can guide you in the right direction, learning by doing ;)

It is compiled in VB6 p-code so smartcheck can't display any helpful information and p-code + malware is quite a pain to analyze. It hasn't any special protection. You should use a p-code debugger then it is much easier to go through the code e.g. WKT Debugger. If you don't use it already: VB Decompiler is extremely useful: vb-decompiler.org

The file is detecting vmware, virtualpc, etc. but it is easy to bypass you just need to change the string to something different. Well the strings are all encrypted but if you use WKT Debugger and step through you can't miss it because you clearly see e.g. the "*VMWARE*" string (* is a wildcard in vb6).