Tuts 4 You

I want to start Reverse Engineerin.

Jason Long

Hello,

Excuse me if my my question is so generally or vague. I know some programming languages like C\C++, but I'm not an expert and I want to learn a unique skill in the computer security. I think the RE is a unique skill. Am I right? The hackers that finding security holes in the software and operating systems using RE?

What are the job positions in RE? Is it just for Malware Analysis or Hardware Reversing? Or a Reverse Engineer must work for an Antivirus Company or...? No freelance job?

What is the first step for learning RE? I'm thankful if anyone show me a good book or...

Any advice welcomed.

Thank you.

Edited by Jason Long

If the only reason you want to learn RE is to have a unique skill for your resume/job application, you're very mistaken. Don't even try that.
Anyone can learn to write (crappy) JavaScript/PHP/CSS in a few weeks and call himself/herself a "freelance web developer". Not everyone can become a reverse engineer - it requires a specific mindset and dedication.

As for job positions, it really depends where you live and what your area of expertise would be. Analyzing malware requires a totally different skillset than finding bugs in hardware chips. Entry level positions usually are paid similarly to entry level developer positions. However, as a developer, you will have a pretty well-defined career path. As a reverse engineer, the path is less defined and really depends on your talent and dedication.
It is possible to freelance and make a good living out of it - but again, it depends on your area of expertise. One of the best recent examples that come to mind, is Azeria (https://twitter.com/Fox0x01) - her ARM reverse engineering skills are superb. And there are freelancers who make $100k/year on HackerOne - but that's quite an extreme example.